India vs South Africa LIVE Score, 1st T20I in Durban: Rain delays toss at Kingsmead

19:12 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

While we wait for rain to subside in Durban, there's another Indian cricket team in action at the moment. Harmanpreet Kaur-led Women in Blue face England in the third T20I, hoping to collect a consolation victory after suffering back-to-back defeats in the first two games.

Click here to follow the LIVE scorecard and commentary

19:05 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

JUST IN: The toss has been delayed at Durban’s Kingsmead due to rain. Stay tuned for more updates

18:55 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

Stay tuned for the toss, which will be taking place in another five minutes at Durban’s Kingsmead

18:46 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

“They will enjoy playing here in South Africa”

India skipper Suryakumar Yadav, into his second assignment as captain after the 4-1 series victory over Australia at home, looks forward to the challenge of taking on the Proteas in their own backyard on the eve of the 1st T20I in Durban.

Read: SKY unperturbed by bouncy pitches, wants 'fearless' cricket from his team

18:35 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

The covers are out at the Kingsmead in the build-up to the first T20I. Will it rain in the remainder of the day though?

We’ve got that covered in our weather report for Durban on Sunday, as well as an idea of how the Kingsmead pitch is expected to behave. Click here to read

18:27 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

Did you know: While South Africa lead India in the head-to-head record in both Tests as well as ODIs, it is the Men in Blue who are slightly ahead in T20Is.

In the 24 meetings between the two teams, the first of which took place in December 2006, India have won 13 while the Proteas have won 10, with one match ending in a No Result.

For T20Is that have taken place on South African soil, India remain ahead on the H2H count 5-2.

18:15 (IST)

Here's hoping the weather in Durban stays clear for the rest of the day

17:57 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

There’s no clarity on whether Rohit Sharma will be India’s captain in all three formats once again by returning to T20Is after more than a year. BCCI secretary Jay Shah was quizzed on the same but he refused to give a concrete answer on the matter.

Hardik Pandya has been leading the Men in Blue since the conclusion of last year’s T20 World Cup in Australia, and SKY is currently captaining in the shortest format in his absence due to injury.

Click here to read what BCCI secretary Jay Shah said on the matter

17:45 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

From hunting for India’s next No 3 in the shortest format to fine-tuning their attack ahead of the T20 World Cup, we take a look at some of the Men in Blue’s objectives in the T20I series against South Africa that starts today

Click here to read the full story

17:34 (IST)

India vs South Africa LIVE

Hello and welcome to our live coverage of the first T20I between South Africa and India at the Kingsmead in Durban on Sunday. Suryakumar Yadav had led India to a commanding 4-1 series victory over a depleted Australian team led by Matthew Wade right after the ICC World Cup, but faces a much tougher assignment against the Proteas in their own backyard, with the series also crucial for the Men in Blue in getting their plans and combinations right for next year's T20 World Cup that will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA.

India vs South Africa 1st T20I preview: Team India face South Africa in the opening game of the three-T20I series in Durban on Sunday with next summer’s T20 World Cup firmly on their mind.

The Indian team began their road to next year’s mega event with a commanding 4-1 series win against a depleted Australian team at home under Suryakumar Yadav’s leadership.

SKY, however, faces a much stiffer challenge away from home against a South African team that will not only be much stronger than the Matthew Wade-led Australia that they faced recently, but will also be playing on their home turf.

The series will also be crucial for the Men in Blue to get their plans for next year’s T20 World Cup — which will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA — right. Skipper Surya and head coach Rahul Dravid, for whom the series will be the first assignment since his contract extension, will also be looking to try out different players at different positions, although a series victory will remain their primary aim.

South Africa, meanwhile, are in action for the first time since their heartbreaking semi-final defeat against Australia in Kolkata in the recently-concluded ICC World Cup.


South Africa Squad: Reeza Hendricks, Matthew Breetzke, Tristan Stubbs, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(w), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Gerald Coetzee, Nandre Burger, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Donovan Ferreira, Lizaad Williams

India Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav(c), Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Kishan, Mukesh Kumar, Washington Sundar, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Yadav

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *